Tea Bag Cookies

I’ve been getting a lot of great ideas on Pinterest lately.   I’m not quite addicted to it although I have spent (sometimes wasted) a lot of time there when I should be doing something else, cooking, quilting, picking up the house, exercising, etc.  But I do find it useful and actually do bring some of those ideas to reality.  This is one that I found on Pinterest and it takes you to a French food blog.  I translated with google translate and found it is a basic sugar cookie recipe.  We recently had an event at a military installation and we were asked to contribute “goodies” for gift bags placed in the attendees lodging.  I decided to make tea bag cookies and mini-elephant ear cookies.  The tea bag cookies are a big hit.

Dipped cookies                                              Cookies with tea tags

Mini-elephant ear cookies                            Tea bag cookies

Individual cellophane bags…each bag contained a tea bag cookie, an elephant ear, and a real tea bag

I used a sugar cookie recipe that has been a proven winner but added grated lemon zest to the batter.  I used a pizza slicer and my olfa see-through quilting ruler to cut perfect rectangles, 2 inches by 2 1/2 inches.  On one short edge of the rectangle cut off small triangles, then make a hole in the middle that is about 1/4″ in diameter.  That hole is used for the tag and as the cookie bakes it becomes smaller.  Bake the cookies, cool them, then dip in chocolate.  I used two types of chocolate, one with great success and the other was good but slightly problematic.  The first chocolate I used was the dipping chocolate I found in the produce department used for dipping fruit (strawberries, bananas).  I really love the container and it makes a good stable chocolate on the cookie.  When that ran out I used semi-sweet chocolate chips…melted in the microwave again, and for some reason they didn’t want to totally set and remained sticky.  Into the refrigerator they went which helped until they warmed up again and became sticky.  Next time I will purchase dark chocolate Wilton candy coating.  I printed my tea bag emblem on cheap-o printer paper, used red & white baker’s twine and looped the tags through the cookie tea bag holes.  They were really cute and very well received.

The mini elephant ear cookies are a super quick, easy, and tasty project.  I pulled the recipe straight from a Barefoot Contessa cookbook.  I usually have on hand a package or two or four of Pepperidge farm puff pastry.  I mixed up a bunch (and I mean a bunch) of cinnamon sugar, rolled the puff pastry in the cinnamon sugar (both sides), folded it according to her directions, sliced and baked.  Honestly, they are delicious, so easy too!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

