Block of the Month Quilt, 2013

Block of the Month Quilt 2013

Over the years I have enjoyed participating in Block of the Month quilts.  I think Jan Patek’s were some of the first that I did.  The catch with doing them is making sure you aren’t doing multiples at a time.  It’s easy to get behind and difficult to get caught up.  There are a ton of really great patterns out there too so it is hard to choose.  Over the past few years I’ve sworn them off, mainly because I have one or two in my quilting queue just waiting for me to get motivated!  Several months ago I quite by accident came across the Temecula Quilt Company website.  I love their style and they specialize in Civil War fabrics and smaller quilts.  So I’m a frequent stalker of their website as well as a customer now.

I decided to bite the bullet and try one of their block of the months using solid fabrics, making 5 blocks a month, each 5″ square.  Now 3 months into it, I am proud to say I’m not behind….yet!  To help keep me on track with the project I decided to display my blocks so that I can always see them.  A piece of jute twine is strung just below the crown molding of my sewing room and using lots of tiny clothes pins from Michael’s  I have one side of the room lined with 15, 5″ squares.

photo-14

The patterns we are using to do these blocks are Lori Smith’s, Road to Freedom.

photo-15

I will be updating you on my progress in a few more months when the next wall is full!

This entry was posted in block of the month, Quilt. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Block of the Month Quilt, 2013

  1. Dawn Cynamon says:

    Hi Karen,
    I like your strippy quilt – lots of little pieces!
    I’m a friend of Frances and she pointed me to your site so I could see all the lovely things you make. You are a blessed lady to have so many talents and the energy to use them.
    Also, love the auction quilts.
    Dawn Cynamon

Leave a Reply

