February

Well I suppose my New Year’s resolution to be a more faithful blogger is out the window!   Honestly, where does the time go?  I have much to share with you as I have been in my sewing room a lot lately.  I have purchased fabric for several more quilts and have found some great and FREE online sew-alongs and blocks of the month.  There is really no need to purchase quilt patterns and books…so much is offered on the internet.

My first project is a sew-along with Temecula Quilt Co.  It is a 5 week project with 5 rows or 5 blocks each.  We are using Judie Rothermel’s 25th Anniversary Civil War prints.  They offered kits but I procrastinated and missed out.  So I purchased my own fabrics, not knowing how much was needed.  As a result I have needed to pull out of my fabric stash which is nice since it’s newly organized.  Don’t you just love it when you know actually what you have and where it is!!  Every Friday they post the next row and so far I have 3 rows complete and waiting for row 4 on Friday.

Temecula Sew-Along, Judie's 25th, rows 1-3

One of my other little projects is in the upper left corner on the cutting table…English paper pieced hexagons.  They are in a cigar box, basted and ready to be made into “something.”  I made them using the Metropolitan Fair fabric line from a charm set I purchased.  I discovered cutting the 5″ squares into quarters they were the perfect side for 1″ hexagons ( that’s per side )  I thinking about making a purse with them.

Several months ago I blundered onto a website that is truly one of my favorites, Moose Bay Muses.  The inspiration was overwhelming as I drooled over her, The Courting Quilt.  So I immediately purchased the book and started collecting Jo Morton fabrics.

IMG_0957

A Bountiful Life was written by Karen Mowery and is an adaptation of the Bird of Paradise Quilt top in the American Folk Art Museum.  She did a wonderful job telling the story of the quilt although with little information on the original maker.  I’m sad to report that Karen Mowery recently lost her battle with breast cancer and although we never met or corresponded she continues to make her mark on the world.  It gives true meaning to the phrase, “When This You See, Remember Me,” a phrase used in antique quilts with signatures of the quilt maker…I’m pretty sure I will use it on my quilt when complete.

I haven’t done a detailed appliqued quilt in a while so this one is calling me.  Today I completed my first block, The Quiltmaker Bride.  I used my standard method of preparing the applique pieces with freezer paper and a glue stick.  The applique pieces were sewn on the background block using a mock machine-applique stitch.  This is a modified blind hem stitch with cotton thread in the bobbin and YLI monafilament clear nylon thread in the top.  It is almost invisible and truly looks like a hand appliqued block.

IMG_0955

These are the prepared pieces ready to be appliqued…and….

IMG_0958

This is my first block, appliqued and ready for a partner.  On to the next block which is called Hospitality Table.

This entry was posted in Quilt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February

  1. Michele schulker says:

    Lovely, lovely. Please show pictures of the finished organized fabric!!

Leave a Reply

