Downton Abbey dinner

Last night was the night…Season 4 Downton Abbey Premiere.  My plans for a fun adult Downton Abbey dinner fell through as my husband is out of town for the week.  It was disappointing however I did a teenage version instead.  Dana selected a cookbook for me to cook from this week and it was a perfect choice –

IMG_1620“At Home Charleston” by Catherine H. Forrester

I purchased this cookbook two summers ago during our wonderful vacation to Isle of Palms and Charleston, SC, one of our favorite places.  The city has so much charm and so much to offer.

This cookbook preserves Ms. Forrester’s grandmother’s traditions and family entertaining heritage in true Southern form.  I love all the little vignettes she describes of her grandparents.  The menus often include the party planning pages and many times next to the entry “Where Given” her grandmother wrote,

At Home – Charleston

and thus, the name for this cookbook.

As for our Downton Abbey dinner for teenagers, Dana invited several friends over to dine.  Only one of the girls was a fan of the show but the others were happy to join us.  Here’s  the menu:

  • Sparkling Apple Cider (the cook had a little something stronger!)
  • Cucumber Canapes (learned at a Pampered Chef party)
  • Shrimp Paste Tea Sandwiches (from featured cookbook, pg. 67)
  • Filet of Beef Bourguignon served over garlic toast (thank you Barefoot Contessa!)
  • Spinach Parmesan (from featured cookbook, pg 159)
  • Chocolate Pots de Creme with Whipped Cream (from featured cookbook, pg. 78)
  • Camomile Tea

Unfortunately I did not snap any photos of dinner although one of the girls did, commenting on the “lovely presentation” of the meal…it may be on Instagram.  It was truly a delightful evening with some lovely young ladies.  I’m so glad Dana has good friends! Our dinner looked a little like this –

downton abbey dinnerMinus the butler, footmen, dinner jackets, silver, up swept hair and stiff upper lips but we did have a white tablecloth, cloth napkins, candlelight, fine china, and crystal stemware.

All the recipes I tried were excellent and will likely be an addition to the Lyon repertoire …I particularly was a fan of the Parmesan Spinach!

And we did watch Downton Abbey until the girls realized it was a two-hour show ending at 11 pm and the next day was a school day!

Following on the Downton Abbey theme..last summer I wrote about a wall hanging I was making with mini Dresden plates and I referred to it as my Downton Abbey quilt.  Well, here it is on the design board waiting to be quilted then displayed hopefully by the Season 4 Finale.

photoSo far I’m doing good on my New Year’s goals …  I exercised 5 times last week, didn’t purchase a new project and actually completed some,  cooked from my cookbook library, met my monthly goal for blogging as well as a few others…it’s a great start!  Until next time!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

