Mother’s Day 2014

Happy Mother’s Day!

It’s been another crazy few months and the chaos will be continuing for our family through 2014.  It’s a good craziness however as opposed to 2013.  Our family has one more week left in our home on the Chesapeake Bay.  We were renting this year to allow our youngest daughter to complete high school here.  Little did we know that my husband would be offered a job that would allow us to stay in this area.  But our lease is nearly over, the owners are returning to their charming house and we have purchased a home in Williamsburg!  Painting, refinishing the hardwoods and new carpeting are in the works as well as finishing the third floor for my “play room.”  It’s been a bustle of activity since we began the house search in January and included selling our house in Alexandria.   May 19 will be the first night in house #20 for our family and here she is:

1408371-25What the picture doesn’t show is the small lake in the back yard and the winery within walking distance.  During the short amount of time we have spent there we spotted catfish…some as long as your arm!…, turtles including a baby in the driveway, Canadian geese, mallard ducks, gold finches, a sweet little female bluebird, cardinals, deer, frogs, and yes, a snake!!  I will definitely be poking a stick in the bushes before I pull weeds!

We had the entire interior of the house painted, hardwoods refinished and new carpet planned on the 19th, just in time for the furniture  delivery on the 20th.  Our oldest daughter will be our first visitor on the 23rd, arriving to attend Dana’s high school graduation on the 24th.  It’s funny since when Kristen graduated from high school we were also in the middle of a move from Utah to DC.  Seems that is the way we roll.

In addition to Charlie’s new job, Dana’s graduation and college decision are the upcoming nuptials of Kristen to her fiance Rich.  Rich popped the question (and yes, he did call to ask for permission)  over the Christmas/New Year holiday in Rockefeller Center in NYC.  Within weeks they selected a wedding date in September and shortly after that Kristen had signed contracts from all the vendors.

During all of these significant events, I did find time to sew and hook.  I’ve been on a pincushion binge lately…here are some of my creations….

IMG_1755And I finished a hooked rug….here it is without the binding,

IMG_1710IMG_1707

 

 

 

 

 

 

It appears that Hampton likes it!

I also decided to tackle a fairly big painted project using Annie Sloan’s chalk paint.  My Grandmother Martin gave me her china hutch years ago. It has traveled the world with us and was beginning to show some wear.  My grandmother purchased it new in 1970 so it wasn’t an antique.  That made my decision to paint it easier and hopefully she would approve.  Here are the before and after photos.

IMG_1700IMG_1715

 

 

 

 

 

 

I changed out the hardware, painted the hinges, slightly distressed the edges and used a coat of clear wax followed by a coat of dark wax to finish it.

IMG_1716And I have been reading (rather listening to books) for the past few months too.   I have been an audible.com subscriber for a couple years.  Since January I have devoured the following:

The Light Between Oceans, M.L. Stedman
The Professor and the Madman, Simon Winchester
The Sense of an Ending, Julian Barnes
Unbroken, Laura Hilenbrand
The All-Girl Filling Station’s Last Reunion, Fannie Flagg
The Other Wes Moore, Wes Moore

So yes, all is well, I continue to be busy but have totally blown that New Year’s resolution to blog more frequently.

And finally, I wish you a Happy Mother’s Day….today I’ve been a little blue, wishing that my parents would be able to visit us in one of their favorite places, Williamsburg, VA.  They traveled there frequently and Mom would be over the moon knowing we will be calling it home next week.  Don’t know when I’ll be back on the blog…got an entire 53 foot tractor trailer to unload and unpack over the next weeks/months.  Be back when we get settled.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mother’s Day 2014

  1. Denise Heck says:

    Karen, I asked Steve yesterday how you were doing. I know you are busy planning the wedding, moving and graduation. What a busy life you lead ! Thinking of you and wishing you all the best. Denise

  2. Frances Uhrich says:

    Karen, as always I love reading your blog, congratulation on the move, the house looks, great now you need to share how you manage your time, all those projects, I myself seem to jump from one thing to the next, but I did complete a dresser that I also pained with Annie Sloan Chalk paint. I love the colour you picked, there is nothing like breathing new life into an old piece of furniture. Enjoy the house. Maybe of paths will cross at the Williamsburg Farmers Market some Saturday morning. Frances

Leave a Reply

